Hindu College Old Effect

Political Science


The faculty of the Department consists of young and enthusiastic teachers committed to creating a democratic academic culture. At present, it has eight permanent teachers with a wide range of interests and specializations. Apart from the compulsory courses, the Department offers a wide choice of optional courses including 'Public Policy in India', 'Understanding South Asia', 'Feminism: Theory and Practices', 'Contemporary Political Economy', 'Feminism and Indian Politics', 'The United Nations and Global Conflicts', etc.,

The Department has been very active in organizing seminars and symposia on issues of diverse interests. The participation of the faculty and the students on a regular basis in debates and discussions makes the Department dynamic and vibrant.

The Department offers Bachelor with Honours and M.A courses and also offers Interdisciplinary, Foundation and Application courses.

POLSO, the Political Science Society comprises of all the students of the Department. It has a democratic tradition of electing its own representatives who, in consultation with and under the guidance of faculty members, conduct the academic and cultural activities of the Department. The Society organizes its annual festival 'POLITY', where issues of varied interests are debated and discussed with renowned panelists. The prestigious, 'N.N. Agarwal Inter College paper presentation', contest is also organized under the aegis of POLSO every year. The society also brings out an in house annual magazine, 'Siyasat', where students and faculty members get an opportunity to express themselves creatively. The students of the Department are also involved in various other extracurricular activities such as debating, dance, music, theatre, choreography etc.


1.            Dr. JAGDISH CHANDER

                M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Associate Professor

2.            Dr. MANEESHA PANDEY

                M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Associate Professor

3.            Dr. SEEMA DAS

                M.A., M. Phil., Associate Professor

4.            Dr. ANIRUDH KUMAR PRASAD

                M.A., M. Phil., Ph.D., Associate Professor

5.            Dr. CHANDRACHUR SINGH

                M.A., M. Phil., Ph.D.,  Associate Professor 

6 .           Dr. TALIM AKHTAR

                M.A., M. Phil., Ph.D,  Assistant Professor


Return to Top